noobconcierge.blogg.se

How to search on keywords in scrivener 3
How to search on keywords in scrivener 3










how to search on keywords in scrivener 3

But what if you want to apply more than one value? For example, if you’re tracking story structure beats, sometimes a single scene may hit multiple beats. So far we’ve talked about metadata types that only allow one value per document. + The Status title can be renamed to match whatever you’re tracking (e.g., POV, Status, Stage, Site) and the new name appears in menus. + Status values are chosen from a list, thus reducing errors from typos. How I use it: Sometimes I use this for revision status as intended (though I usually change the values), but usually I use it to note the scene’s setting. The Status value can be viewed as a watermark on the Corkboard, a column in the Outliner, or from any tab in the Inspector. I’d use this one for something you want to track, and maybe search for, but don’t need to see as easily. Status is basically the Label field without any color, which makes it less visible. Only one value is allowed per document.ĭespite its name, the Status field can be used to track anything you want. + The Label title can be changed to match whatever you’re tracking (e.g., POV, Status, Stage, Site) and the new title will appear in menus. + Label values are chosen from a list, thus reducing errors from typos (helps with searches). + Color can be turned on in multiple locations, very visible. Knowing a file’s stage of revision helps me quickly see where I need to start working when I open my project, and serves as a visual progress meter.įor blog posts, I use labels to store which website the post was written for.

how to search on keywords in scrivener 3

I often switch it to track revision status during edits. How I use it: During my fiction drafting phase, I like to use labels to track POV (since I always have more than one POV character). Label values can also be viewed as a column in the Outliner, or from any tab in the Inspector. (Yes, I’m the kind of dork who has a favorite type of metadata.) Labels have colors associated with them, which can be turned on in the Icons, Binder, Corkboard, and Outliner.

how to search on keywords in scrivener 3

The Label field is my favorite in Scrivener because it has the most visibility.

#How to search on keywords in scrivener 3 how to

I’ll discuss how Label, Status, and Keywords differ and how to use each. Information about an object is called metadata, and Scrivener has several types of metadata you can use to tag, color code, search for, and organize your files. For blog posts/articles: site, status, suitability for publication in a magazine, topic, etc.Story structure element (e.g., Dark Night of the Soul).What would you like to be able to track about your documents in Scrivener? Here are a few ideas: This means you can tag those documents to keep track of just about anything you want. One of the great things about Scrivener is that it allows you to divide up your work into scene - or chapter-sized “chunks” (usually documents).












How to search on keywords in scrivener 3